Tips on studying Japanese

Hello guys!
Alice has talked before about us finally finding a place to study Japanese, Narita Academy. We’ve found other places, but always has a problem. Either it was overly priced or to far for both of us. Narita Academy is the best choice if you live in Egypt. Our sensei is Japanese – sensei Shimasu. Our group is def awesome, each single person is different, funny and interesting.

Annnyway, so about the studying. I’m one of those people who doesn’t memorise stuff easily especially that Japanese is 180 degrees away from English and Arabic.

First things first, a good ノート (notebook).

20131201-121235 AM.jpg
I found that having my stuff organised will help me in remembering stuff better. I bought this one because of the six sections. Here is how I divided it:

1. Hiragana Classwork
~~~~ Its not really classwork since we work from notes were given. I would just go home and write what we did in class in this section so I don’t forget where we stopped.

2. Study Chegg – Hiragana
~~~~ This is the interesting part. An app called Chegg Flashcards. I’m not sure if its available for Androids since I don’t own one. What this app does is that it creates flashcards (d-uh!) but without the fuss and waste of papers. It puts the cards in groups as you wish and it counts for you how many you got right and wrong, also the percentage of how many times you got the flashcard right.

20131201-010044 AM.jpg
Just before you use Chegg, you must know the letters or vocab first.

20131201-010529 AM.jpg
I write the group of letter a few times first and as I move to the other letter, for example if I’m doing the H group – I write は a few times until I think I got the hang of it and then I go on repeating the same thing with ひ. I then cover up both letters with a paper and rewrite both of them from my memory and keep doing this for the 3 groups of letters we took that day. Then on a different paper, I open Chegg and start writing the letters in Japanese (I make Chegg show me the english letters and I write down Japanese; make sure you have them set on shuffled so you really know all the letters).

3. Hiragana Vocab
~~~~ Here I obviously write the vocab. Thing is, I divide the paper in 3 different parts: Romaji, The word and definition.

20131201-012825 AM.jpg

Sections 4,5 and 6 are the exact same expect its for Katakana.

I cant say our grades are the best, but we try. I had November exams when I started the course so I wasn’t really studying and I had to skip a class because of traffic before. Skipping classes are the worst because the letters I missed, no matter how much I study, I still mix them upp.

Next lesson will be an “end of level” exam. We have to get at least 70% to go to the next level (which would be grammar). Honestly, Alice and I are freaking out because we don’t have much time to study all the vocabs and katakana is confusing us. Vocab is katakana + hiragana vocab. For katakana, I just need to memorise the letters very good to be able to memorise all the words – the words aren’t hard since english based. Hiragana though >.< a lot of vocab and we have some annoying words, also as soon as we get the exam papers we pretty much forget that were doing Japanese.

Hopefully both of us pass *fingers crossed* gonna start the study tomorrow. Wish us luck! If you have any tips on studying Japanese, please comment how or link us to your post! ありがとう (thank you).

Hope you found this helpful (^_~) さよなら!

-Panda/Dew (also my Japanese name is 💧しずく [Shizuku])

Leave a Reply

