Cancer Art

20140127-054428 pm.jpg
Hello everyone!
So I drew the afro girl few months ago. People would comment on how pretty it is but the hair line is too far, needed to closer to her face. I wanted the girl to be bald but still has hair – not normal hair though. Hair of imagination. The girl was bald but she created her own hair. Not everyone can see it thus the hair line is doesn’t start where it should start. People continue to see her bald head but she sees herself differently. She added makeup on her face like other girls do but did not cry because she doesn’t have hair like other girls do. She worked with what she has and she’s happy with the way she is.

I coloured her face using pastel pitt from faber castell and watercolours for the galaxy afro. However the stars are made with gouache/poster colours.

I have to admit. I drew this picture inspired by a pic I saw on WeHeartIt.com they aren’t the exact same though. The original’s hair is photoshopped, hair line is where anyone has hair is and she’s slightly smiling. I didn’t want mine to smile. I wanted her to look charismatic and sucked into her imagination. Something else I’d like to say is that the idea of her balding didn’t inspire me to draw her that way, it just came to me when I was finished with her.

-Panda/Dew

Leave a Reply

