DIY: Activated Charcoal Face Mask

I’ve been having really bad breakouts for the past few weeks and my mud masks aren’t doing a good job at fighting the acne lately – maybe I need new masks. However, I find that nothing works as good as home made masks. So I did a little research and found that activated charcoal is great at fighting off acne and so I cracked my own little recipe.

Ingredients:
1 activated charcoal pill
1 tsp of yogurt
1/2 tsp of honey
Few drops of orange blossom water

Benefits:
1. Charcoal has natural detoxifying properties. It draws oils, bacteria and dirt out of pores which helps in fighting acne.

2. Yogurt is always my go to product during break outs. Its benefits are countless! It contains:
Zinc which is an anti inflammatory that makes it good a reducing swellings caused by acne and even out skin tones. It also has mild astringent properties to help tighten the skin tissue.
Lactic Acid smoothes rough skin, exfoliates and moisturises and is anti ageing.
Calcium helps in skin regeneration and is an anti oxidant which heals dry skin.
B-vitamins hydrates skin and makes it glow and is necessary for cell growth and skin renewal. It also protects the skin from free radicals.
All of these help in clearing acne, lighting and tightening the skin and maintaining a wrinkle free skin.

3. Honey is a natural anti bacterial which is great to prevent acne. It is full of anti ageing properties. Moisturising, soothing and clarifying (opens up pores).

4. Orange blossom water or you can use normal water, but I find this more beneficial to my skin. Orange blossom water is rich in A, C and anti oxidants. It helps in balancing skin oils, hydrates, firms and reduces redness.

Directions:

Put the charcoal pill in a small bowl and add a few drops of orange blossom water to help break it down to powder, this could take a long time. I kept hitting the pill with my spoon to break it and when it finally did, I placed it on the back of the spoon and started grinding it on the bowl like how you do with a mortar and pestol. After it became a liquid, I added my honey and yogurt and stirred.

20140703-110815 pm-83295383.jpg

The mask is a silvery black colour which is very pretty must I say. No it is not staining and easy to take off, but takes a really long time to dry. I think around 45 minutes?

I applied it before my shower today and after I came it my skin was noticeably improved. My acne swelling was gone by a lot and the redness was reduced, I think I’m in love with this mask. Its not even messy!

-Panda/Deww

Leave a Reply

